His Holiness the Dalai Lama will drop his debut album on July 6 to coincide with his 85th birthday.

Inner World mixes mantras, chants and teachings with music, which Rolling Stone describes as “a decidedly New Age flow with plenty of ethereal instrumentals, but it’s anchored by a steady bass and drum groove that the Dalai Lama rides deftly.”

‘Compassion’ is the first track, which is based on one of the most famous Buddhist prayers.

The album is said to be a long-time passion project of Junelle and Abraham Kunin, musos from New Zealand and students of the spiritual leader, who spent five years working with His Holiness on the project.

According to the Associated Press, Ms Kunin first suggested the idea to the Dalai Lama’s office years ago after a futile search online for something that paired his teachings with music to serve as a stress relief at work. While Kunin’s idea was initially turned down, she was able to pitch it again during a 2015 trip to India via a letter she handed to one of the Dalai Lama’s assistants. This time, His Holiness accepted.

Inner World Track List

  1. “The Buddha”
  2. “One Of My Favourite Prayers”
  3. “Compassion”
  4. “Courage”
  5. “Ama La”
  6. “Healing”
  7. “Wisdom”
  8. “Purification”
  9. “Protection”
  10. “Children”
  11. “Humanity”

Love this? You’ll love this bit from Will & Woody – catch the boys weekdays from 4PM on KIIS 1065